The fall season, with its abundance of earthy produce, seems to be whisking by quickly this year. Between traveling for work, vacations, moving and adopting a whole new rhythm of life, I have barely even found the time to get acquainted with my new kitchen! So far, I can chalk up autumn 2012 to two butternut squash dinners, a few chanterelles feasts, two consecutive nights of game, and a marathon week of perfecting my tarte tatin recipe… and I feel like I have just barely gotten started. Not to mention all the lovely things that were missed: Russin’s Fete des Vendanges and the traditional descente des alpages are long since over and done with, and in all honesty, I could not even tell you when they took place. What month are we in anyway?

But c’est la vie, right? There will be more wine to taste and the cows will be back around in the spring. In the mean time, it’s fondue season once again, and I look forward to doing the rounds of Geneva’s cheesiest – as soon as the temperature drops a little.

In the midst of the flurry however, I failed not to remember what is probably the biggest food event of the year, the Salone del Gusto, taking place in Turin from the 25-29 of October. The Slow Food website anticipates it will attract no less than 200,000 people, with thousands of small scale producers from across the globe. Jamon from Spain, cheeses from Switzerland, everything from Armagnac to figs from France, street food from across Italy, and the list goes on, and on, and on, and on….

My confession is that I still don’t know if I will make it to this salon of sweet and savory delights. If you, like me, would give your left arm to be there but just don’t see it happening, don’t hesitate for even a second before reading the Salone’s website (linked above) in abundant detail. You may not be able to go to the producers, but I guarantee you will find inspiration in the movement of people and producers out there to make life just that much more palatable.

Buon appetito!

Fall’s Greatest Cornucopia: Salone del Gusto 2012

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

