A Chocoholic’s Agenda: 2014

Copyright 2007 Whey-Out Chocolate Inc

Missed me?

Well, I certainly missed you.

It was recently pointed out to me that I am not eating as much chocolate as I used to. After a brief show of raging indignation, it occurred to me that it was true, and that the reduction of my chocolate intake was actually directly inversely proportional to my experimentation in making chocolates! First came the chocolate truffles (super easy, you really should try it), and then truffles stuffed with caramelized pistachios (UGH!, if I may say so myself), and finally the homemade dark chocolate peanut butter cups (an adultified childhood favorite that still needs some tweaking but that is certainly promising).

Then I remembered why I so rarely indulge in my favorites: they are not so easy to find! The Maison Cartier’s nougatines are found only in their home shop in Versoix, the Hochstrasser pavé glacé Genevois found only at seasonal or specialized markets (or bought directly from the home basement where they are made in Meinier). A bit easier to acquire are Philippe Pascoet‘s chocolate covered raisins macerated in Sauterne, and their chocolate covered, crispy caramelized pistachios – a common fixture in our kitchen.

All in all, a good selection, but it does feel like it’s time to explore and expand the list of favorites. So, for me, for you, here is a listing of chocolate salons in and around Geneva in 2014.  For now, only a few dates have been announced. The Geneva expo for instance has not yet set its dates, but usually happens in October each year. As new info comes in, I will add it to this post, so check back in from time to time!

 

MARCH 2014

Salon du Chocolat, 14-16 March, Parc des Expositions de Nantes, Francehttp://nantes.salon-du-chocolat.com

Salon du Chocolat, 21-23 March, Parc des Expositions de Toulouse, France www.salonduchocolat-toulouse.com

 

APRIL 2014

Salon du Chocolat: 4-5 April, Zurich, Switzerland –  http://zurich.salon-du-chocolat.com

FestiChoc Versoix: 5-6 April, Versoix, Switzerland – http://www.versoix.ch/fdc.php

Chocolat Patrimoine Universel, 17-21 April, Grand Palais, Paris, France

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

